Video for Research

I love that I am still learning new things from my students. We are currently working on our informational writing unit. The students are busy searching the internet for article on various environmental topics. We did a lesson on using videos from Discovery Education as a way to increase our knowledge about difficult, complex topics. Often video is easier to understand and gives necessary background knowledge before tackling the academic language in their articles.

As I was walking around today I noticed several students watching videos that were not from Discovery Education. When I asked them about it, they introduced me to a new, free source for educational videos. http://www.watchknowlearn.org/ I am so pleased to see my students finding new resources on their own and sharing what they find. If you have had any experience with using videos for research or this site please share your experience.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *